Week #5 Family:]

Everything about who we are, both our nature and nurture comes from our family.
This week in our classroom we are talking about our family’s. Well, my family is loving, caring, and way overprotective. But, there also very weird and crazy funny. In my family music runs in our blood its everyone in my family including me either plays an instrument, sing, or is a song writer. Other than music our culture is another really important and close to us and I found a poem that describes my family and my race in general.

Mexican Summits Mt. Rainier

I’m Latino Proud

Creative Commons License Andrew E. Larsen via Compfight© Janie Garcia

Published on February 2006

I was born
into this race
I’m Latino Proud
And it shows on my face

When it comes to family
We defend our own kind
Something in others
You’ll never find

We work out in the hot sun
To earn our daily bread
But that’s alright
We keep our family fed

We’re known for our tortillas
Our beans and our rice
A few jalapenos’
For a touch of spice

Sometimes we are bad
And get sent to jail
It’s all so sad
When we can’t make bail

It’s guys like that
Who give our race a bad name
I’m still Latino Proud
And I say it with no shame

Chicano here
Hispanic there
What’s the difference
When the others don’t care

We walk with our heads up
Each and every mile
I’m Latino Proud
And for that I can smile!

Source: http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/latino-proud

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *